• exmouthcommunityassn

Update on Exmouth Watersports Centre given at ECA AGM

Grenadier Estates gave an upbeat talk at our Annual General Meeting about plans for the new watersports centre on the sea front. Project Director Aiden Johnson emphasised his organisation’s drive to deliver sustainable projects and gave an insight into development of the centre. The talk coincided with the announcement of the name the centre will be known by: ‘Sideshore’, a term for the ideal wind for kitesurfers. The evening concluded with a fascinating introduction by Jan Gannaway to the wide range of initiatives in the town dedicated to preserving and encouraging wildlife, ranging from swifts to hedgehogs.

Image by Brian Frost

Earlier the Association (ECA) had held its Annual General Meeting in the presence of members, Councillors and affiliates at the Community College last week. In his annual report the Chairman, Geoff Skinner, commented on the various topics which the Association had followed and consulted on, including the Queens Drive Development, the Tidal Defences, McCarthy and Stone, the Neighbourhood Plan and the draft East Devon Heritage Strategy. He went on to say how much the Association valued its membership of the Community Organisations Liaison Panel (COLP) which meets monthly with Councillors in attendance, and reports directly the Town Council.

The ECA had spoken at the McCarthy and Stone appeal against planning refusal for a 59 bed care home on Salterton Road and was pleased that the Inspector rejected the appeal, thus preserving valuable employment land. This was particularly important given the need for more employment opportunities for the town’s young residents, as recognised in both the Local Plan and Neighbourhood Plan. How were employers to be incentivised to move to Exmouth, he asked.

The Association is particularly proud to have had three of its Management Committee members on the Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group, including the Chairman, Roy Pryke, and looked forward to seeing implementation arrangements put in place.

Geoff Skinner was re-elected Chairman, Roma Patten Secretary and Keith Bungay, Ian Cann, Roy Pryke and Hannah Searle Committee members. There remains a vacancy for Treasurer.

Free RNLI Guide Book
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon